Wiki:
Page name: Items Index [Logged in view] [RSS]
2007-12-22 18:17:22
Last author: Duredhel
Owner: None
# of watchers: 6
Fans: 0
D20: 4
Bookmark and Share

Items





Carrying Capacity

A character can only carry a limited weight, if a character goes over the weight he/she is allowed to carry, the character is considered encumbered. The formula for carrying capacity is the following.

((STR+CON)/2)*6 = Carrying Capacity.

Encumberance works as following.

Flying Weight - If you're anywhere over 2/3rds of your carrying capacity, you can't fly (Hauken) or Hover (Eolans).
Encumbered (Over max carrying capacity) - Halved Dex and Str
Critically Encumbered (Two times max carrying capacity) - Halved Str and unable to move.

More Items will be added as the game progresses.




Spellcasting Items

Magical Items can be used by almost anyone, some might have undesired effects if used by certain people, like a Holy Sentient Sword might choose to turn against a Death Knight, the same Holy Sword, however, might be loyal to a Redeemer, even though both Redeemer and Death Knight use similar powers and are usually dark element characters.

A particular kind of item, however, is the spellcasting item, which allows you to cast spells you do not know or might not be able to learn, and without mana cost. Scrolls are a sub-category of these items. Both scrolls and Spellcasting Items have a cumulative DC (difficulty class) to casting by different characters. The DC of Spellcasting Items is beaten with a MAG roll, and the DC of a Scroll is beaten with an INT roll.

As with any DC, rolling a natural 20 means auto-success and rolling a natural 1 means auto-fail.

Spellcasting Items - Add to DC
Character is of an element opposing the spell - +15
Character does not know the spell in question - + 5
Character does not have ANY magic training - + 5

Scrolls - Add to DC
Character is of an element opposing the spell - +10
Character does not know the spell in question - + 5 per spell level
Character does not have magic training in the level of the spell - + 5
Character does not have magic training in the Element of the spell - + 5
Character does not have ANY magic training - + 5




Weapons


Armor


Accessories


Expendables


Relics and Artifacts





The Realms of Lemire
Races of Lemire
The world thus far...
Maps of the Realms



Username (or number or email):

Password:

2006-05-03 [Duredhel]: Nah, you can't fly if you're over half your encumberance weight. And I'm not doing GP weight cuz GP changes a lot and quickly, so its too much of a drag to be changing equipment..

2006-05-03 [Veltzeh]: Geez, haukens don't go around with much stuff, do they? After the bare essentials for traveling they can like carry one small weapon >_>

2006-05-03 [Duredhel]: Lv 1 Haukens dont. But you can drastically increase your CC by increasing your Str and Con.

2006-05-03 [Veltzeh]: Yeah, and that's a bit hard when Haukens don't get either as a racial bonus ;)

2006-05-09 [Grengo]: Aah, so our characters can now carry more stuff? That's good to know.

2006-05-09 [Veltzeh]: Yay! Vineg isn't overburdened anymore!

2006-05-09 [Adaman]: Now that we have this encumberance, is it really necessary to have those hefty disadvantages for the full plate armor?

2006-06-09 [Lunnie]: Oh hey, I realise just now that there's new stuff. xD

2006-09-30 [Veltzeh]: Those are pretty big DCs there... I'd think not knowing the particular spell or knowing just a lower level of the particular magic wouldn't give that much a penalty. But that's just me X)

2007-06-13 [Lepellier]: Ok, now we need to unpassword the Expendables page...

2007-06-13 [Veltzeh]: Done.

2007-06-23 [Silverbullet]: Can a magical item be enchanted by opposite element spells?

2007-06-23 [Veltzeh]: I would guess so, based on what I've seen.

2007-06-24 [Duredhel]: Yes, but it would add a 25 MAG DC to the enchantment and increase the XP cost by 25%. If you're buying it already enchantment, just make it more expensive.

2007-06-25 [Silverbullet]: How much more expensive?

2007-08-21 [Silverbullet]: What's the base DC for a Spellcast item/Scroll?

2007-08-22 [Duredhel]: The DC rules are up there.

2007-08-22 [Silverbullet]: I know that, but I'm asking about the Base DC... Let's say a characer is of the same element of the spell cast by the item, knows said spell and (obviously) has magic training. What's the DC for using the spellcasting item?

2007-08-22 [Duredhel]: 0, since you don't add anything.

2007-08-22 [Silverbullet]: Thank you ^^

2008-08-04 [Gastogh]: Carrying capacity:
((STR+CON)/2)*6
=(STR+CON)*3

Number of comments: 32
Older comments: (Last 200) 1 .0.

Show these comments on your site

Elftown - Wiki, forums, community and friendship. Sister-site to Elfwood